Aggressive Advocacy. Compassionate Counsel.

Indianapolis Underage DUI Defense Lawyer

Why Hire Our Underage DUI Attorney in Indianapolis?

With over 100+ years of combined criminal defense experience, The Criminal Defense Team is well-equipped to handle your OWI case effectively. Our seasoned Indianapolis DUI defense attorneys possess the expertise to tackle challenging cases that may intimidate other law firms. When you’re determined to fight an OWI charge rather than simply accepting it, you can trust us to stand by your side and advocate for your rights.

Protecting Your Future Through Aggressive Advocacy

Thanks to Indiana’s Zero Tolerance Law, anyone under the age of 21 who is found to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of just 0.02 percent can face charges for underage DUI.  These can be difficult charges to face, especially when your whole future is ahead of you. When you are facing these charges, The Criminal Defense Team is here to help. 

Call (317) OUR-TEAM for a confidential case review with an experienced Indianapolis underage DUI defense lawyer.

What Is Underage OWI In Indiana?

Operating a Motor Vehicle While Intoxicated (OWI) is typically considered driving a motor vehicle while intoxicated or with a BAC of 0.08 percent or greater. However, because those under age 21 are not supposed to drink or purchase alcohol, the threshold for charging this offense is much lower. With a BAC of just 0.02 percent, which can arise even when someone has only had a single drink, a person under age 21 can face OWI charges in Indiana. 

Penalties For Underage OWI

The potential penalty for an underage OWI depends on the driver’s BAC. If they have a BAC of 0.02 percent to less than 0.08 percent, they can be jailed up to six months and fined up to $500. They can also have their driver’s license suspended for one year. Penalties can be more severe with aggravating factors, such as:

  • You have been convicted of the offense before
  • You have a high BAC
  • Someone was hurt or killed in a drunk driving accident related to your offense

If you had a BAC of 0.08 percent or greater, you will face the same potential penalties as an adult with an OWI charge. This includes the following possible penalties:

First Offense

  • Up to one year in jail 
  • A fine up to $5,000
  • License suspension up to two years 

Second Offense

  • Five days to three years’ incarceration
  • A fine up to $10,000
  • 180 days to two years license suspension

Third Offense

  • Ten days to three years incarceration
  • A fine up to $10,000
  • License suspension of one to ten years

You can face additional penalties, including:

  • Enrolling in and paying for a substance abuse course 
  • Serving community service
  • Losing college scholarships or having an offer of acceptance to college rescinded
  • Attending a victim impact panel 
  • Purchasing and installing an interlock ignition device
  • Being put on probation
  • Being refused for jobs

 To avoid the immediate suspension of your driver’s license, you will need to request an administrative hearing within ten days.  Your license can be suspended even if you refused alcohol or drug testing because Indiana has an implied consent law that requires anyone who is legally stopped for an OWI investigation to submit to testing. 

Our experienced legal team will work tirelessly to protect your future and shield you from these harsh penalties.

Schedule Your Confidential Case Consultation With Our Underage DUI Lawyer in Indianapolis Today

If you are facing underage DUI charges, the stakes are high. Your future is in jeopardy. But you don’t have to go through the process alone. Our Indianapolis criminal defense lawyers can help. Let us use our extensive knowledge of Indiana criminal laws and procedures to analyze your case and build the strongest defense possible. 

Contact us today at (317) 687-8326 for a confidential case consultation.